June 29, 2020

Congratulations to our 2020 Dora Nominees

We congratulate all of our AMPD community who were nominated at the 2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards!


Weyni Mengesha
Weyni Mengesha is nominated for Outstanding Production & Outstanding Direction for Soulpepper Theatre’s  ‘A Streetcar Named Desire’

Weyni Mengesha (BFA 2005): Artistic Director, Outstanding Production, Outstanding Direction, A Streetcar Named Desire, Soulpepper Theatre Company

Mumbi Tindyebwa Otu (BA 2010): Director, Outstanding Production, Outstanding Direction, The Brothers Size, Soulpepper Theatre Company

Michael Ayres (BFA 2012): Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, Casimir and Caroline, The Howland Company

Amanda Cordner (BFA 2011), Richard Lee (BFA 2000), Alexandra Montagnese (MFA 2017), Matthew Rossoff (MFA 2017): Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Theatre Rusticle

Heather Marie Annis (BFA 2005): Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, Remembering the Winnipeg General, zietpunktheatre in association with Why Not Theatre

Allyson McMackon (Contract Faculty: 4th year Movement, MFA 1992):

Outstanding Production, Independent Theatre Division, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Theatre Rusticle.

Outstanding Original Choreography, Musical Theatre Division, Sunday in the Park, George Eclipse Theatre Company

Michael Greyeyes
Prof. Michael Greyeyes is nominated for Outstanding Direction in the Opera Division for Signal Theatre’s ‘Two Odysseys: Pimooteewin / Gállábártnit’

Michael Greyeyes (Associate Professor), Cole Alvis (BFA 2006): Outstanding Direction, Opera Division, Two Odysseys: Pimooteewin / Gállábártnit Soundstreams, Signal Theatre

Dahlia Katz (BA 2005): Director, Outstanding Production, Outstanding Direction, Jillian Jiggs, Solar Stage

M. John Kennedy (BA 2002): Artistic Director, Outstanding Production, Jillian Jiggs, Solar Stage

Stewart Arnott (BFA 1977): Outstanding Direction, Marjorie Prime, Coal Mine Theatre

Melissa Joakim (BFA 2009): Outstanding Scenic Design, Prophecy Fog, Theatre Centre & Paper Canoe Projects in association with Nightswimming Theatre.

Michelle Ramsay (BFA 1997): Outstanding Lighting Design, A Midsummer Night’s Dream,  Theatre Rusticle.

Joanna Yu (BFA 2007): Outstanding achievement in Design, The Adventures of Pinocchio, Young People’s Theatre



Syreeta Hector (Contract Faculty: Contemporary/Modern, MA 2016): Outstanding Performance by an Individual, Dance Division, Citadel Dance Mix 2019: Black Ballerina, Citadel + Compagnie

Santee SMith
Santee Smith is nominated for Outstanding New Play in the Young Audiences Division for Kaha:wi Dance Theatre’s ‘The Mush Hole’

Santee Smith (MA 2004): Outstanding New Play, Young Audiences Division, The Mush Hole, Kaha:wi Dance Theatre

Christianne Ullmark (MA 2014): Outstanding Performance by an Individual, Dance Division, House Mix: Encarnado, Toronto Dance Theatre

Danielle Baskerville (MA 2013): Outstanding Performance by an Individual, Dance Division, dance: made in canada/fait au canada – Cruz series: Janus is a god, Princess Productions and the Dietrich Group



Thomas Ryder Payne (BA 1995):

  • Outstanding Sound Design/Composition, General Theatre Division, Julius Caesar, Groundling Theatre Company and Crow’s Theatre
  • Outstanding Sound Design/Composition, Independent Theatre Division, The Wager, Theatre Gargantua