September 2, 2022

AMPD alumni, students, faculty receive over 20 Dora award nominations

Over 20 AMPD community members were named nominees by Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) at the 42nd Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards nomination ceremony on August 29, 2022. The Awards, known as “The Doras,” recognize excellence in professional theatre, dance and opera in Toronto. New this year, The Pat and Tony Adams Freedom Fund for the Arts will provide a $1,000 cash prize for each individually-named Dora Award recipient across all Dora Divisions (excluding Outstanding Production and Outstanding Ensemble recipients).

The Doras are named for Dora Mavor Moore (1888-1979), a well-loved teacher and director who helped establish Canadian professional theatre in the 1930s and 1940s. Recognizing the outstanding achievements in Toronto’s performing arts industry, the Doras honour the creators of numerous theatre, dance and opera productions annually in the following divisions: General Theatre, Independent Theatre, Musical Theatre, Dance, Opera, Theatre for Young Audiences and Touring.


Akosua Amo-Adem (2), Outstanding New Play to the team of The Home Project, The Howland Company | Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, The Home Project, The Howland Company   

Liza Balkan,  Outstanding New Opera, librettist, Gould’s Wall 

Christine Horne, Outstanding Performance in Featured Role, Light, Tarragon 

Syreeta Hector, Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, on air, Citadel + Compagnie

Jenny Jimenez,  Outstanding Lighting Design, 1184, Phoenix Arts and Aga Khan Museum 

Brandon Kleiman, Outstanding Scenic Design Boy Falls From the Sky, David Mirvish and Past Future Productions, 

Dahlia Katz (2), Outstanding Direction, Fireside Munsch (’21), Fireside Stories | Outstanding Direction, MORE Fireside Munsch, Fireside Stories 

Jareth Li, Outstanding Lighting Design, The Home Project, The Howland Company 

Samantha McCue, Outstanding Costume Design, Kamloopa, Soulpepper, Native Earth Performing  Arts 

Jane Alison McKinney, Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, on air, Citadel + Compagnie

Heather Marie Annis, Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, A Tonic for Desperate Times, Theatre Gargantua 

Weyni Mengesha, Outstanding Direction, Pipeline, SoulPepper Theatre Company 

Tony Ofori, Outstanding Performance in Leading Role, Pipeline, SoulPepper Theatre Company 

Soheil Parsa, Outstanding Direction, Wildfire, Factory Theatre 

Miquelon Rodriguez (2), Outstanding Direction, An IMM-Permanent Resident, Nautanki Bazaar as presented by Why Not Theatre’s RISER Toronto 2022 | Outstanding Sound Design/Composition, An IMM-Permanent Resident, Nautanki Bazaar as presented by Why Not Theatre’s RISER Toronto 2022 

Debashis Sinha,  Outstanding Achievement in Design: Sound design/composition, R.U.R. A Torrent of Light, A Tapestry Opera production in partnership with OCAD University 

Rhoma Spencer, Outstanding Performance by an Individual, House of Bernardo Alba, Modern Times Stage Company and Aluna Theatre 

Arun Srinivasan, Outstanding Lighting Design, Mixtape, Crow’s Theatre 

Mumbi Tindyebwa Out, Outstanding Direction, Is God Is, An Obsidian Theatre Company, Necessary Angel Theatre Company, and Canadian Stage Co-Production 

Bageshree Vaze (4),  Outstanding Performance, Outstanding Original Choreography, Outstanding Performance by an Individual, Outstanding Original Sound Composition, Sadhana/Tarana, Pratibha Arts

Joanna Yu, Outstanding Scenic Design/ Projection among men, Factory Theatre