York alumni win big at Canadian Screen Awards » School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design
Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

York alumni win big at Canadian Screen Awards

York alumni win big at Canadian Screen Awards

During Canadian Screen Week (April 11 to 16), The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television handed out more than two dozens Canadian Screen Awards to York alumni – from the School of Arts, Media, Performance & Design and the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies – recognizing their achievements in film, television and the digital sector.

Victoria Lean (Credit: George Pimentel Photography)
Victoria Lean (Credit: George Pimentel Photography)

Throughout the week, the Canadian Screen Awards recognized a range of categories, including sports programming, news, documentaries, children’s programming, animation, reality, lifestyle and more. The week culminated in a final ceremony, honouring work in the comedic and dramatic arts.

Going into Canadian Screen Week, more than 45 alumni were nominated across more than 30 different categories. Among the nominees, several York alumni earned multiple awards, including Victoria Lean, who won the Barbara Sears Awards for Best Editorial Research, Best Direction Factual and Best Factual Series for the documentary series We’re All Going to Die (Even Jay Baruchel) which explores the global crises that threaten the Earth’s sustainability, and the solutions that can right the future. Alum Gordon Henderson was also among the Best Factual Series recipients for the series.

Marsha Green
Marsha Green (Credit: George Pimentel Photography)

Marsha Green was another multi-winner, earning an award for Best Writing, Drama Series and Best Drama series for The Porter, a series based on the true story of the creation of the first Black-led labour union after the First World War. Alumna Annmarie Morais was also among The Porter‘s Best Drama recipients.

Tracy Galvin earned two awards for separate projects: Best Live Entertainment Special for The Junos 2022 and Best Performing Arts Program for Buffy Sainte-Marie: Starwalker.

The documentary series BLK: An Origin Story, which looks at the untold stories of Black Canadians, earned several awards for York alumni, including Avril Jacobson for Best Picture Editing, Documentary and Jennifer Holness for Best Direction, Documentary Series.

Here is a full list of York alumni winners:

Best Talk Program or Series – 1 Queen 5 Queers
Awardee: Aisha Fairclough

Best Sports Host – 2022 Beijing Winter Olympic Games
Awardee: Andi Petrillo

Best Sound, Documentary or Factual – Buffy Sainte-Marie: Carry It On
Awardee: Elma Bello

Best Performing Arts Program – Buffy Sainte-Marie: Starwalker
Awardee: Tracy Galvin

Best Writing Web, Program or Series – Chateau Laurier: An Unfortunate Turn of Events
Awardee: Emily Weedon

Best Biography or Arts Documentary Program or Series – Comedy Punks: Kids in the Hall
Awardee: Laura Michalchyshy

Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series – Detention Adventure
Awardee: Lauren Corber

Best Live Production, Social Media – ET Canada Live
Awardee: Jodie Davis

Best Web Program or Series Non-Fiction – ET Canada Pride
Awardee: Jodie Davis

Best Original Music, Animation – Let’s Go Luna! Dig it Daddy-O
Awardee: Ari Posner

Best Web Program or Series, Fiction – Revenge of the Black Best Friend
Awardee: Amanda Parris

Best Documentary Program – Sex with Sue
Awardee: Lisa Rideout

Best Documentary Program – Sex with Sue
Awardee: Sam Dunn

Best Guest Performance, Comedy – Sort Of: Sort of Amsterdam/Sort of I Love You
Awardee: Amanda Brugel

Best Original Music, Comedy – Sort Of: Sort of Who She Is
Awardee: Vivek Shraya

Best Writing, Factual – Still Standing: Oxford
Awardee: Graham Chittenden

Best TV Movie – Swindler Seduction
Awardee: Jonas Prupas

Best Writing, Variety or Sketch Comedy – TallBoyz: Don’t wear in front of the song
Awardee: Franco Nguyen

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series – The Amazing Race Canada
Awardee: Michael Tersigni

Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition – The Amazing Race Canada: Where is Gurmail
Awardee: Michael Tersigni

Best Writing, Children’s or Youth – The Hardy Boys: Captured!
Awardee: Ramona Barckert

Best Performance, Sketch Comedy (Individual or Ensemble) – This Hour Has 22 Minutes
Awardee: Stacey McGunnigle

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary – To Kill a Tiger
Awardee: Cornelia Principe

For the full article, visit yfile.new.yorku.ca.