September 5, 2019

Dance prof behind a new pan-University capstone course focused on solving real-world challenges

A new, full-year capstone course is being pilot tested this fall at York University. C4: The Cross-Campus Capstone Classroom brings together third- and fourth-year students from different faculties into multidisciplinary teams focused on solving pressing, real-world challenges posed by organizations operating in both the for-profit and not-for-profit worlds. C4 partners include the Yonge Street Mission, the Al and Malka Green Artists’ Health Centre, Glendon’s Globally Networked Learning Project, and Panoplo Inc.— among many others.

August 21, 2019

NOW MAGAZINE: Theatre @ York’s rochdale ‘best of the fest’ shout out!

The 29th edition of SummerWorks finished on the weekend with attendance increases and lots of sold-out shows, proving that there’s a loyal, devoted audience for thought-provoking, innovative performance works. NOW MAGAZINE lists rochadle as best of the fest under outstanding play, production, ensemble, direction & design

A woman in a hallway wearing a geometric white deer head mask
July 31, 2019

Bio-Sensing technology stars in an interactive performance installation by AMPD Professors

Professors Erika Batdorf (Theatre) and Mark-David Hosale (Computational Arts) team up with Kate Digby, a dance professor at Kansas State University, and Alan Macy, co-founder of BIOPAC Inc., in creating and presenting Search for Simurgh, an immersive, interactive performance installation workshop August 1-3 at the Toronto Media Arts Centre (32 Lisgar Street).

Madeleine Sims-Fewer BFA 08 and Dusty Mancinelli BFA 07
July 18, 2019

York U partners on multiple Telefilm Talent to Watch films

Six York U alumni teams got the green light for funding up to $125,000 for their first feature films through Telefilm Canada’s 2019 Talent to Watch program. Now in its second year, the juried program supports the production, digital distribution and promotion of a first feature-length film or other format of narrative-based audiovisual content made specifically for online distribution. York was credited as the partner on half the alumni projects – more than any other organization or educational institution.

Jennifer Bolt, Photo by Mike Ford
July 5, 2019

York University Magazine: Primed to Succeed Using dance research for mental health

Jennifer Bolt (MA ’01, PhD ’16), an adjunct professor in York University’s Department of Dance and Faculty of Education, has been asked to contribute to the MHCC’s new two-year Post-Secondary Mental Health & Safety Standards project, an outgrowth of the National Standard of Canada for Psychological Health & Safety in the Workplace launched in 2013.

Theatre Season Photoshoot
July 3, 2019

Theatre @ York 2019-20 season: Performing Gender

Theatre @ York is delighted to announce its 2019-20 season, built around the theme of performing gender. This year we will present Ann Marie MacDonald’s Good Night Desdemona (Good Morning Juliet), directed by Jennifer Tarver, and Timothy Findlay’s Elizabeth Rex, directed by ted witzel, as well as a series of other studio shows and student-led productions, including The Ashley Plays, playGround, the Devised Theatre Festival, and Scenes by Design.