Our Faculty

Faculty Name Academic Title Department Email
Academic Title
Anderson, Carol Professor Emerita Dance carola@yorku.ca Modern/Contemporary Dance, Choreography, Dance Writing
Armstrong, Eric Associate Professor Theatre earmstro@yorku.ca Voice
Asselstine, Elizabeth Professor Emerita Theatre eaa@yorku.ca
Barta, Tereza Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts tereza@yorku.ca
Batdorf, Erika Associate Professor Theatre ebatdorf@yorku.ca Movement, Creation, Directing
Bowman, Rob Associate Professor Music rbowman@yorku.ca Interim Associate Chair
Buchbinder, Amnon Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts amnonb@yorku.ca Screenwriting
Buchli, Ines Associate Professor Theatre ibuchli@yorku.ca Chair, Department of Theatre
Burke, Karen Associate Professor Music burkek@yorku.ca Gospel Choir, Jazz Vocals
Elmes, Barry Associate Professor Music belmes@yorku.ca Jazz
Evans, Barbara Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts bevans@yorku.ca Interim Chair - Department of Cinema & Media Arts
Feldman, Seth Professor Cinema & Media Arts sfeldman@yorku.ca
Fisher, Caitlin Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts caitlin@yorku.ca Canada Research Chair: Digital Culture
Fisher-Stitt, Norma Sue Professor Dance normasue@yorku.ca
Fogarty, Mary Associate Professor Dance maryf@yorku.ca
Forsyth, Scott Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts sforsyth@yorku.ca
Green, Laurence Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts lgreen@yorku.ca Production
Greyeyes, Michael Associate Professor Theatre greyeyes@yorku.ca Director, Graduate Program in Theatre (MFA)
Greyson, John Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts greyzone@yorku.ca Production
Grosskurth, Brian Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History bgrossk@yorku.ca Art History and Theory
Guevara, Alberto Associate Professor Theatre aguevara@yorku.ca Performance studies
Hayashi, Sharon Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts hayashi@yorku.ca Graduate Program Director of Department of Cinema and Media Arts
Henderson, Al Associate Professor Music alanh@yorku.ca Jazz
Hoffman, Philip Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts phoffman@yorku.ca Graduate Program in Film (MFA) - Production
Hornstein, Shelley Professor Visual Art & Art History shelleyh@yorku.ca Architectural History and Visual Culture
Hudson, Anna Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History ahudson@yorku.ca Tier 2: York Research Chair
Johnson, Sherry Associate Professor Music sherryj@yorku.ca Ethnomusicology
Jones, Janet Professor Visual Art & Art History jjones@yorku.ca Painting, Art Criticism
Kal, Hong Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History hongkal@yorku.ca Art History
Kazimi, Ali Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts akazimi@yorku.ca
Kerwin, Shawn Associate Professor Theatre shawn@yorku.ca Stage Design
Knight, Katherine Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History kknight@yorku.ca Photography
Korrick, Leslie Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History korrick@yorku.ca Art and Cultural History, Graduate Programs in Art History & Visual Culture, Science & Technology Studies
Lampert, Paul Associate Professor Theatre plampert@yorku.ca Acting, Directing
Lau, Yam Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History yamlau@yorku.ca Painting, Drawing, Theory
Levin, Laura Associate Professor Theatre levin@yorku.ca Director, Graduate Program in Theatre & Performance Studies
Levitt, Nina Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History nlevitt@yorku.ca
Longfellow, Brenda Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts brendal@yorku.ca Production
Mackwood, William Associate Professor Dance mackwood@yorku.ca Director, Graduate Programs in Dance (MFA)
Marchessault, Janine Professor Cinema & Media Arts jmarches@yorku.ca
Martin, Stephanie Associate Professor Music stmartin@yorku.ca Music History, Harpsichord, Organ
Mayberry, John Associate Professor Theatre mayberry@yorku.ca Theatre Production
McCullough, John Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts johnmccu@yorku.ca
McKernan, James Associate Professor Theatre mckernan@yorku.ca Theatre Production
McKinnon, Peter Professor Theatre mckinnon@yorku.ca Stagecraft, Theatre Management, Design and Production
Nicol, Nancy Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History nnicol@yorku.ca Time Based Art
Parsons, Sarah Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History sparsons@yorku.ca History of Photography, Canadian Art History
Petrowska Quilico, Christina Professor Music cquilico@yorku.ca Piano Performance and Musicology
Przybylski, Teresa Professor Theatre teresap@yorku.ca Production
Rahn, Jay Professor Music jayrahn@yorku.ca Theory
Rickard, Marie Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts maric@yorku.ca Screenwriting
Robbin, Catherine Associate Professor Music crobbin@yorku.ca Classical Vocal Performance
Robinson, Danielle Associate Professor Dance drobin@yorku.ca Dance Ethnography, Cultural Studies, Dance History
Rubin, Don Professor Theatre drubin@yorku.ca Theatre Studies - aesthetics, criticism, Canadian theatre, modern drama
Rudakoff, Judith Professor Theatre rudakoff@yorku.ca Theatre Studies
Schwarz, Judith Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History jschwarz@yorku.ca Sculpture and Drawing
Schweitzer, Marlis Associate Professor Theatre schweit@yorku.ca Theatre Studies
Silver, Phillip Professor Emeritus Theatre psilver@yorku.ca
Simms, Robert Associate Professor Music robsimms@yorku.ca World Music Performance
Singer, Yvonne Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History ysinger@yorku.ca Sculpture, Drawing, Theory
Sokol, Casey Associate Professor Music kcsokol@yorku.ca Contemporary Improvisation and Musicianship
Stanworth, Karen Professor Visual Art & Art History kstanworth@edu.yorku.ca Art History and Education
Stuart, Ross Associate Professor Theatre rstuart@yorku.ca Theatre Studies
Thurlby, Malcolm Professor Visual Art & Art History thurlby@sympatico.ca Medieval Art and Architecture, Canadian Architecture
Thomas, William Associate Professor Music bthomas@yorku.ca Chair, Department of Music
Trifonova, Temenuga Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts temenuga@yorku.ca
Vander Woude, Matt Associate Professor Music mattvw53@yorku.ca Interim Chair
Vickerd, Brandon Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History bvickerd@yorku.ca Sculpture/Foundry
Viswanathan, Sundar Associate Professor Music sundarv@yorku.ca Jazz Studies
Wait, Patricia Associate Professor Music pwait@yorku.ca Performance
Westray, Ron Associate Professor Music rwestray@yorku.ca Oscar Peterson Chair in Jazz Performance
Wilson, Mark Associate Professor Theatre pitwil@yorku.ca Acting
Wiseman, Howard Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts hwiseman@yorku.ca Screenwriting
Wootten, Claire Associate Professor Dance clairew@yorku.ca Dance Education, Ballet Technique
Wrazen, Louise Associate Professor Music lwrazen@yorku.ca Ethnomusicology
Yates, Kevin Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History yates@yorku.ca
Young, Suzie Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts syoung@yorku.ca
Zatzman, Belarie Hyman Associate Professor Theatre bzatzman@yorku.ca Theatre Studies
Zryd, Michael Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts zryd@yorku.ca
Callison, Darcey Associate Professor Dance callison@yorku.ca Contemporary Choreography, Dance Dramaturgy, Gender Studies, Culture and Communication
Cash, Susan Associate Professor Dance scash@yorku.ca Chair, Department of Dance
Jefferson, Kelly Assistant Professor Music kellyjef@yorku.ca Jazz Saxophone, Jazz Workshop, Jazz Theory
Rogers, Kenneth Associate Professor Cinema & Media Arts Associate Dean, Research
Kazubowski-Houston, Magdalena Associate Professor Theatre mkazubow@yorku.ca Performance Studies
Dobie, Gwenyth Associate Professor Theatre gdobie@yorku.ca Movement for Actors and Devised Theatre, The Alexander Technique, Acting Pedagogy
Garrett, Ian Assistant Professor Theatre igarrett@yorku.ca Sustainability and Design, Theatre Production and Administration.
Canton, Lisette Associate Professor Music lcanton@yorku.ca Conducting, Choirs, Choral Music
Coghlan, Michael Associate Professor Music mcoghlan@yorku.ca Digital Music, Composition, Theory
Chambers, Mark Associate Professor Music chamber1@yorku.ca Director, Graduate Programs
de Val, Dorothy Associate Professor Music ddeval@yorku.ca Musicology
Alcedo, Patrick Associate Professor Dance alcedo@yorku.ca
Amegago, Modesto Mawulolo Associate Professor Dance mamegago@yorku.ca Dance Ethnography, West African Performance Arts, Dance Writing
Sinclair, Don Associate Professor Computational Arts dws@yorku.ca Chair, Department of Computational Arts
Hosale, Mark-David Assistant Professor Computational Arts mdhosale@yorku.ca
Longford, Michael Associate Professor Computational Arts longford@yorku.ca
Tenhaaf, Nell Professor Computational Arts , Visual Art & Art History tenhaaf@yorku.ca
Van Nort, Doug Assistant Professor Computational Arts , Theatre vannort@yorku.ca Canada Research Chair in Digital Performance
Wakefield, Graham Assistant Professor Computational Arts , Visual Art & Art History grrrwaaa@yorku.ca Canada Research Chair in Interactive Information Visualization
Adler, Dan Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History dadler@yorku.ca Director, Graduate Program in Art History (MA, PhD)
Armstrong, David Scott Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History darmstro@yorku.ca Print Media
Balfour, Barbara Professor Visual Art & Art History bbalfour@yorku.ca Print Media
Baturin, Jon Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History baturin@yorku.ca Photography, Digital Media
Couroux, Marc Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History couroux@yorku.ca Time Based Art
Daigneault, Michel Associate Professor Visual Art & Art History daigneau@yorku.ca Director, Graduate Program in Visual Arts
Fisher, Jennifer Assistant Professor Visual Art & Art History jefish@yorku.ca
Ong, Joel Assistant Professor Computational Arts joelong@yorku.ca
Randolph, Peters Assistant Professor Music rand@yorku.ca Composition